How was the EU founded

Portrait and history of the EU

Profile of the EU-27

Member States: Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Czech Republic , Hungary, Cyprus.

Population: Over 446 million people - Germany is the most populous country with 83 million inhabitants. The country with the poorest population is Malta with a population of around 493,559. After China and India, the EU has the third largest population in the world in its area.

Surface: Over 4 million km² - in terms of area, France is the largest country in the EU with 633‘187 km² and Malta is the smallest with 316 km².

Official languages: 24 - Members of the European Parliament are allowed to speak in any official EU language in the European Parliament. The EU institutions employ more than 4,300 translators, making them one of the largest translation services in the world.

Economy: GDP 2018 (EU-28): 15.876 billion euros - Measured by the volume of total goods and services produced (GDP), the EU's economy today is larger than that of China (GDP of 11.353 billion euros) and only little smaller than that of the USA (17.353 billion euros).

Trade: Share of world imports 15.1%, share of world exports 15.2% (2018) - When it comes to world imports, the EU ranks just behind the USA (16.4%). When it comes to world exports, it is ahead of the USA (10.9%) and second place after China (16.4%).